New York Assault With a Deadly Weapon Lawyer

If a person intentionally or accidentally causes physical injury to another individual, they can be charged with assault. If the person is believed to have used a deadly weapon to commit the assault, they will be charged with a more serious crime known as assault with a deadly weapon.

Often referred to as aggravated assault, individuals convicted of this crime will face felony charges, which can result in time behind bars and a permanent criminal record.

If you are currently facing such charges, it is imperative that you hire a New York assault with a deadly weapon lawyer to help you fight them.  A skilled assault attorney can build your case.

What is Considered a Deadly Weapon?

As mentioned above, the assault in question must be carried out by a deadly weapon. This is a key part of the charge, and many individuals are shocked to find out exactly what items can be classified as deadly weapons.

When most people think of a deadly weapon, thoughts of knives, guns, and clubs often come to mind. These items are considered deadly, but in reality, any item that can be used to cause death or great bodily harm can be classified as deadly.

Understanding the Varying Degrees of Assault

An individual can be charged with assault with a deadly weapon if they are charged with any of the degrees of assault listed below:

First-Degree AssaultAn individual will receive a first-degree assault charge if they assault another person in an attempt to cause death or serious bodily harm. This is the most serious type of assault charge, and it is categorized as a Class B felony in New York state. A person can also be charged with first-degree assault if they engage in careless or negligent behavior that results in the injury or death of another person.  Second-Degree Assault

If a person causes serious injury to another individual, but they only intended to injure (not kill) them, they can be charged with second-degree assault.

Third-Degree Assault

Individuals will face third-degree assault charges if criminal negligence resulted in another person being assaulted with a deadly weapon. This crime is considered a Class A misdemeanor.

If a person is charged with any of the crimes above, they will certainly need legal assistance from a New York assault with a deadly weapon lawyer.

Consequences of a Conviction

Hiring a New York assault with a deadly weapon lawyer is a must if an individual wants to their charges reduced or dismissed. The penalties for this crime are harsh, and if a person is convicted, they can face one or more of the following consequences:

  • Jail time
  • Post-release supervision
  • Legal fines ranging from $1,000 to $5,000
  • Restitution (up to $15,000)
  • Permanent criminal record
  • Individuals convicted of assault with a deadly weapon will be forced to report to a parole officer for up to three years after they are released. Having an aggravated assault charge can also prevent individuals from voting, passing background checks, obtaining financial aid, and joining the military. Individuals with prior convictions will face harsher consequences than first-time offenders.

    Talking to a Lawyer

    If you have been charged with any of the crimes mentioned above, you will help from an experienced New York assault with a deadly weapon lawyer. Get in touch with a lawyer who understands your charges and knows how to get them reduced or dismissed.